Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
The 2nd Annual Student-Athlete Awards are set for May 8. Here are the nominees.
Student-Athlete Awards Nominees

2022-23 award-winners announced at Second Annual Student-Athlete Awards

ORANGE, Calif. – Chapman Athletics and the Chapman Student-Athlete Advisory Committee hosted the Second Annual Student-Athlete Awards with 21 team and individual awards handed out to honor on and off field achievements.

Watch a replay of the awards show

View photos from the awards show

Women's Sports Scholar-Athlete of the Year

Julia Strand won the distinction of Women's Sports Scholar-Athlete of the Year after an impressive career on the basketball court. The two-time All-SCIAC and All-Region selection climb into the top-5 all-time at Chapman for scoring and rebounding. She led the conference in scoring for the second year in a row while also averaging double digit rebounds.

Head coach Carol Jue said, "Julia was one of the best players we've had come through our program. Her numbers speak to her talent and all the hard work she put in over the last five years. Beyond that, she was a leader and a positive influence on everyone around her."

Men's Sports Scholar-Athlete of the Year

Wyatt Thompson was named the Men's Sports Scholar-Athlete of the Year after a dominant career on the pitcher's mound at Hart Park. The 2022 SCIAC Pitcher of the Year and Second Team All-American owns a 2.81 career ERA with a 15-6 record to go along with five saves and 215 career strikeouts.

Head coach Scott Laverty said, "The Coaching staff is extremely proud of Wyatt's growth over his four years. His key to success has been his great work ethic which helped him not only improve individually each season, but helped him become an important leader and example for all the players in our program."

Women's Sports Jack Duddy Leadership Award

Shannon Coyle was the winner of the Jack Duddy Leadership Award. The women's soccer Team Captain led by example throughout her career. Her resiliency shone through when she suffered a season-ending injury just three matches in to the program's return from the COVID-19 pandemic. She came back to lead the Panthers as a senior and became Chapman's first-ever recipient of the prestigious NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship.

"She is a selfless leader on and off the field, always putting others before herself, said head coach Courtney Calderon. "Her hard work, dedication, and desire to be the best shined through to her teammates daily."

Men's Sports Don Perkins Leadership Award

Tanner Mendoza was picked as the Jack Duddy Leadership Award winner after earning a pair of All-SCIAC honors as a running back on the football team. The Team Captain ran for 1740 yards in his career, scoring 22 touchdowns on the ground and three more receiving TDs. He scored the game-winner in the Chapman's 2019 triple overtime victory over Linfield in the NCAA Tournament.

"Tanner was our team's Ernie Chapman Award. The award reflects community involvement, classroom and university activities, being an outstanding player and two-time Team Captain. As iron sharpens iron, through encouragement and mentorship, he challenged his teammates to be winner both on the field and in the classroom," commented head coach Bob Owens.

List of award winners

Moment of the Year: Jackson Busby bicycle kick to score game-winning goal in overtime of SCIAC Championship match

Women's Sports First Year Athlete Award: Jenna Urrabazo, Soccer

Men's Sports First Year Athlete Award: Reid Omilian, Swimming & Diving

Women's Sports Sophomore Athlete Award: Annika Carlson, Lacrosse/Track & Field/Cross Country

Men's Sports Sophomore Athlete Award: Nick Burton, Track & Field

Women's Sports Junior Athlete Award: Simi Lauwers, Softball

Men's Sports Junior Athlete Award: Nathaniel Espinoza, Football

Women's Sports Breakthrough Performance Award: Annika Carlson, Lacrosse/Track & Field/Cross Country

Men's Sports Breakthrough Athlete Award: Cole Kershner, Swimming & Diving

Women's Sports Character Award: Chloe Allen, Volleyball

Men's Sports Character Award: Bryce Grover, Swimming & Diving

Comeback Athlete Award: Olivia Armstrong, Cross Country/Track & Field

Panther Pride Award: Christina Inboden, women's soccer

Community Service Award: Football

Most Spirited Team: Swimming & Diving

Women's Sports Team Academic Award: Cross Country, 3.721 GPA

Men's Sports Team Academic Award: Cross Country, 3.596 GPA

By Steven Olveda
Sports Information Director